Services for Success Blog

Strengthening Business Operations by Lisa Vinton

Thank you for the opportunity!

It’s not everyday someone gets an amazing opportunity to help others. I feel very fortunate to share with you that today I have that opportunity.

More than 18 months ago, I was searching on the Internet for projects to pursue as a business management consultant. As I perused several websites, I came across one in particular that was very interesting: Managers & Directors I was curious enough to send an email to inquire more about the opportunities that existed. An amazing thing happened – that email has opened up a door that I did not imagine was even there.

Soon after I sent the email, I was contacted by the founder of Managers & Directors, John Morrow, from Australia. We spoke on the phone at length and I shared my qualifications as a potential mentor & advisor for his clients, while he shared the needs of the company and its goals. I was very impressed by John and looked forward to re-connecting with him when the time was right.

A few months later, John emailed me to let me know that he would be coming to California for business meetings and asked if I could join him for lunch. As it happened, my business partner, Darcy, of Only2Degrees Radio Show and I were planning a trip to San Francisco for other meetings, so it tied in nicely. Once again, after meeting John face-to-face I was impressed with his professionalism, kindness and personality. We agreed to keep in touch. That was a little over a year ago.

We continued to email on occasion, until mid-February 2009 when I contacted John to discuss opportunities in the US. You see, John must sleep every once in awhile, so being “down under” made it difficult for him to thoroughly launch Managers & Directors (M&D) in the US. His firm was going strong in other parts of the world, including Australia, UK, and Asia, but the US was lagging behind. I saw so much potential for the unique value that M&D’s had to offer. However, when I contacted John to discuss with him that I would like to reach out more aggressively as a mentor with M&D (I really like the firm’s concept and philosophy), he responded differently than I expected.

John asked if I would like to consider overseeing the US operations… in other words, instead of acting as a mentor, I would gather up the mentors in the US and find the clients to utilize them. What a great opportunity! For starters, the most important thing was knowing that I could work with John. From our several conversations over the year and a half, I was not only confident that we could work well together, I was excited at the opportunity to work with him.

So, here we are – Managers & Directors of North America! What exactly do we do? We make a positive difference in the operations of corporations and their staff. Of course, I could go on and on about how impressive this firm is, but why don’t you just check out the website. If you, or someone you know, is a good fit as a mentor or advisor, send us your resume. And, of course, if your company is seeking the support it needs to grow in a positive direction, let us know! We likely have the most qualified candidate ready to assist you!

Check us out at Managers & Directors, N.A. or call me at 951.304.0488.

July 8, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. [...] Thank you for the opportunity! « Services for Success Blog Posted on July 8, 2009 by only2degrees Thank you for the opportunity! « Services for Success Blog [...]

    Pingback by Thank you for the opportunity! « Services for Success Blog « The Only2Degrees Blog | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey Lisa

    Sounds awesome. Well done. I have no doubt you’ll do extremely well.

    I don’t know another person on the planet with such an enormous capacity to get things done, and get things done well. I’m convinced you’ve managed to clone yourself. Please clone me as I am completely struggling to stay on top of work, music and family (oh…there should be sleep in there too).

    I’m looking forward to hearing how things progress

    Sean

    Comment by Sean Fellowes | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. I ditto Sean’s comments and say Hats off to you for your dedication and diligence to strengthening business relationships. You are a great example of Form, Function and Flow is the business, blog, community and family spheres.

    Cheers,

    Christie

    Comment by Christie | July 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

